Axillary Artery - homeopathy360

Axillary Artery

The Axillary artery is the continuation of the subclavian artery in axilla and is renamed as the axillary artery, once it passes the lateral border of the first rib.
Pectoralis minor muscle crosses the artery and divides it into three parts:

  1. First part, superior to Pectoralis     minor
  2. Second part, posterior to Pectoralis minor and
  3. Third part, inferior to Pectoralis minor.

Memorizing branches of axillary artery
Supriya, Lata, and Sabita are three sisters. Supriya is an intelligent teacher. She motivated and expertise Lata for teaching. Now Supriya and Lata are teaching using Cool PAD to Sabita the subjects Communication, technology, arts, and politics. From the above story, consider the following:

  1. Supriya is already intelligent. Thus, Supriya for the branches from the first part of the axillary artery.
  2. She motivated Lata and Teaches used Cool PAD. So, Lata, Teaches and Cool PAD are for the branches from the second part of the axillary artery.
  3. Both are teaching Sabita, the subjects, namely, Communication, technology, arts, and politics. Therefore, Sabita, Communication, technology, arts, and politics are for the branches from the third part of the axillary artery.


1. First part: Supriya for Superior thoracic artery.
2. Second Part:
A. Lata for Lateral thoracic artery.
B. Teaches for thoracoacromial artery.
C. Cool PAD – For four branches of the thoracoacromial artery:
i. Cool for Clavicular branch.
ii. P for the Pectoral branch.
iii. A for Acromial branch.
iv. D for the Deltoid branch.
3. Third Part
A. Sabita for Subscapular artery divides into two branches:
i. Communication for circumflex scapular artery.
ii. Technology for the Thoracodorsal artery.
B. Arts for the Anterior Circumflex artery.
C. Politics for Posterior Circumflex artery.
Axillary artery supplies the upper limb and is divided into three parts: the region proximal to the Pectoralis minor, the region beneath it, and the region distal to it.

  1. First Part: The first section gives rise to the superior thoracic artery, which supplies the first and second intercostal spaces.
  2. Second Part: The second part gives rise to the lateral thoracic artery and the thoracoacromial artery.
    The thoracoacromial artery has four branches:
  1. Pectoral branch,
  2. Acromial branch,
  3. Clavicular branch, and
  4. Deltoid branch
    The Pectoral branch supplies the Pectoral muscles.
    The Acromial branch supplies the Deltoid. 
    The Clavicular branch supplies Subclavius and the Sternoclavicular joint.
    The Deltoid branch runs in the Delto-pectoral groove and supplies the Deltoid and Pectoralis major muscles.
  • Third Part
    The third part gives rise to:
  1. The subscapular artery.
  2. The anterior circumflex humeral artery.
  3. The posterior circumflex humeral artery.
    The subscapular artery supplies the Supraspinatus and Infraspinatus muscles.
    The anterior and posterior circumflex humeral arteries supply the muscles near the surgical neck of the humerus.

About the author

Dr. Ladda Satyanarayan

I am consulting homoeopathic practicing since last 24 years. Helping chronic suffers with homoeopathy. I have written two books , one on organon of medicines and second on Anatomy.